IACS Cybersecurity Design & Implementation
Full Course Bundle (IC34M)

Course Details

Course: IC34-M
Length: 8 modules
ISA-memberprice: € 1.575,-
Non ISA-memberprice: € 1.875,-
Exam: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist IC-34 is included (€ 200,- value)

CEU Credits: 0.7
Certification of Completion: A Certificate of Completion indicating the total number of CEUs earned will be provided upon successful completion of the course.

This course starts every 1-st and 15-th of every month


ISA Course IC32/IC32E or equivalent knowledge/experience


The second phase in the IACS Cybersecurity Lifecycle (defined in ISA 62443-1-1) focuses on the activities associated with the design and implementation of IACS cybersecurity countermeasures. This involves the selection of appropriate countermeasures based upon their security level capability and the nature of the threats and vulnerabilities identified in the Assess phase. This phase also includes cybersecurity acceptance testing of the integrated solution, in order to validate countermeasures are properly implemented and that the IACS has achieved the target security level.

This course will provide students with the information and skills to select and implement cybersecurity countermeasures for a new or existing IACS in order to achieve the target security level assigned to each IACS zone or conduit. Additionally, students will learn how to develop and execute test plans to verify that the cybersecurity of an IACS solution has properly satisfied the objectives in the cybersecurity requirements specification.

Certificate Program: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist – Part of the ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Certificate Program. After successfully completing the course, students should call ISA Customer Service at 919-549-8411 to request their Eligibility code for Cybersecurity Certificate 3 Exam. Once this code is issued, students may schedule to take the exam with Prometrics

Certification of Completion: A Certificate of Completion indicating the total number of CEUs earned will be provided upon successful completion of the course.


  • Review the ICS Cybersecurity Lifecycle
  • Conceptual Design Process
  • Detailed Design Process
  • Design & Implementation Examples
  • Testing


  • Define the scope of a cyber security risk assessment
  • Identify four types of cyber security vulnerability assessments
  • Read cyber risk assessment process flow charts
  • Explain why documentation is important for all assessment findings
  • Define Cyber Risk Reduction Factor (CRRF)
  • Identify ways to manage risk in an IACS
  • Explain ways to treat risk in an IACS
  • Explain key elements in developing a security strategy
  • Develop a cybersecurity plan
  • Discuss aspects of Project Management relevant to Design
  • Identify steps in the System/Software Development Lifecycle model
  • Define the Functional & Security Requirements necessary for Design
  • Choose the appropriate technology for Design
  • Develop a Detailed Security Design for an IACS
  • Create a design specification document
  • Explain the purpose of a firewall
  • Identify classes of firewalls
  • Explain the importance and limits of Firewalls in Device Decision Basis
  • Identify need for Firewall in different Architectures
  • Establish a plan for Firewall installation & configuration
  • Describe System Hardening
  • Describe Security Compliance Manager
  • Explain Center for Internet Security (CIS) Benchmarks
  • Explain how the Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET) protects Windows systems
  • Explain how IACS Devices can be hardened
  • Identify Network Device hardening best practices
  • Define Access Control
  • Identify Access Control Best Practices
  • Define Remote Access
  • Identify Remote Access Best Practices
  • Explain Virtual Private Networks (VPNs)
  • Configure a VPN Connection
  • Explain the need for Cybersecurity System Acceptance Testing
  • Identify the two main objectives of Cybersecurity Acceptance Testing
  • Identify Cybersecurity Acceptance Testing Best Practices
  • Recognize Popular Security Configuration Auditing Tools
  • Describe an Intrusion Detection System (IDS)
  • Explain the purpose of a Network Intrusion Detection System
  • Explain the purpose of a Host Intrusion Detection System
  • Identify the two main detection methods of IDS
  • Identify the differences between Network and Host Intrusion Detection Systems


  • Control systems engineers and managers
  • System Integrators
  • IT engineers and managers industrial facilities
  • Plant managers
  • Plant Safety and Risk Management


  • On-demand modules with video lab demonstrations included
    • Module 1: Assessment Overview
    • Module 2: Conceptual Design
    • Module 3: Detailed Design
    • Module 4: Firewalls
    • Module 5: Intrusion Detection Systems
    • Module 6: System Hardening
    • Module 7: Access Control
    • Module 8: Cybersecurity Acceptance Testing
  • A viewable version of ISA standards for course reference
    • ISA/IEC 62443-1-1
    • ISA/IEC 62443-2-1
    • ISA/IEC 62443-3-3
    • ISA/IEC 62443-2 (draft version)
  • Exam ($200 value) for ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist
  • Course Note Set


ISA members: € 1.575,-
Non-ISA members: € 1.875,-  (ISA membership: € 125,-)

Exam: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist IC-34 is included (€ 200,- value)